NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Skywatcher Skyliner 8” Dobsonian + accessories advice

Hello guys. I would love some advice from you.

First and foremost I should say, that I’m brand new in the business. For over a year I’ve been wanting a telescope and finally - now is the time.

I’ve been looking at a ‘Skywatcher Skyliner 8” Dobsonian’ (http://www.astroshop.eu/skywatcher-dobson-telescope-n-200-1200-skyliner-classic-dob/p,4440) from Astroshop.eu, and my budget being max 550€-ish, this telescope looks promising in performance and quality, as I’ve read on this forum. 

If I go for the 8” dobsonian I have some money in spare. I have been looking at a suitcase set of eyepieces, this one ‘Omegon Suitcase with eyepieces and accessories’ (http://www.astroshop.eu/omegon-suitcase-with-eyepieces-and-accessories/p,8353), also containing some filters and some eyepieces but is this worth the money? Or do I have enough in the eyepieces that comes with the telescope?

Also how is Astroshop as a shop? Are they trustworthy? Can you recommend me ordering a telescope from them?  I’m living in Denmark so there will be some delivering distance from Germany where they reside - hope it will last the travel. :)

At last I would like to hear your experience using this dobsonian or any dobsonian for photographies. My brother owns a Canon 7D and we often join up together, taking pictures of the sky just using the camera. It would be nice if we could attach it to the telescope aswell and atleast have some good shots of nebulas, planets etc.. I know a dobsonian isn't the best kind for that, but can it be done with some proper results?

Thanks in regards. Kudos for a great forum and community!

A great telescope to start with.