Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Upgrade or Buy new?

Hi everyone.  I am wanting to get more into astronomy and into astro photography.  A few years ago, I was gifted a an 8" Hardin Deep Space Hunter (DSH-8) with a 9mm and 25mm Plossl lenses, a 2x barlow, and a bunch of filters.  The sight on the telescope is broken though so I just have to try and aim it at planets and hunt around till i find it.  The telescope is mounted on a turn table/lazy-susan type mount.  

So here's my question, for me to get into astro-photography, what would you all recommend I do?  Should I start with the telescope I have or should I buy something new?  I'm very new to all of this, but I'm assuming I would need a few things:

- A computerized drive for the telescope

- A new mount for that drive

- DSLR (I have some I can use)

- TMount adapter for the SLR

I would like to start with planetary, moon, solar photography (possibly?) and then move into DSO.  I live in a fairly dark location and am not far from darker locations.  So would it be better to buy a whole new setup or start with this scope? 

Things I don't like about the DSH-8:

- It is HUGE and not portable.  Its a pain to just carry it outside when I want to use it.  I would love to have a setup I can take camping.

- The scope is broken so I can't sight it...Not sure the best way to fix it?

- When I do get locked onto something (say Jupiter for instance), images are not sharp with the 25mm.  Using the 2x makes it worse.  I don't know if this is the lens, telescope, atmosphere?

- I have to manually track planets (like a caveman!! ;) )

- I've been unsuccessful in finding any DSO, but I chock that up to the fact that I aim the thing.

Santa might be willing to bring me a new telescope, but probably not much more than $300 worth...so not sure what that will get me.  Any insight you guys have would be great!

Thanks!