Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Revelation Dobsonians

I'm thinking of upgrading my  Skywatcher 8" dob and have been looking at the Revelation 12" which seems very competitively priced - much cheaper than the Skywatcher flextube version. I have no experience of Revelation scopes however, are they optically of similar quality to the Skywatcher ones. I'd appreciate any views on this.

I've owned a Revelation 8" and a Meade Lightbridge 12" (which uses the same mirror cell and mirrors that the Revelations do) and I've also owned the Skywatcher 8" and 10" dobs. In my examples I felt the optical quality of the Skywatchers was slightly better but the focuser of the Revelation and Meade was smoother than the Skywatchers.

The 1/12th wave quoted for the Revelations is an RMS figure by the way which equates to around 1/4 wave PV. It's generally thought that the Skywatcher mirrors average around 1/5th - 1/6th wave PV so slightly better. There will be some variation with both brands though so a good Revelation could be optically better than an average Skywatcher and vice versa.

I agree that there is quite a price gap between the 12" Revelation and the 12" Skywatcher Flextube so unless you want the sliding tube facility I can see that the former would be tempting and I'm sure it would be an enjoyable scope.

I wish Skywatcher still did their solid tube 12" dob. It used to be somewhat cheaper than the Flextube and had the same optics.

I wish Skywatcher still did their solid tube 12" dob. It used to be somewhat cheaper than the Flextube and had the same optics.

I guess they did that to make people opt for their flagship flex tube range. It does seem a shame though I will admit. The solid tubes appealed to a lot of people.