Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

HEQ5 Pro GOTO for astrophotography

Hi,

First of all I am new to the idea of astrophotography. I am interested in DSOs. After I pointed my camera to the sky and did some stacking I realised how BIG these objects are and jet how hard to find...

I have been kurking around this forum for a while and learnt that when it comes to the mount, size matters. So I have started with some financial calculations and came to the conclusion that the SW HEQ5 would be approaching the pain barrier but also the minimum requirement for AP. Yet looking at peoples signatures it appears that the NEQ6 is more popular.

Hence my question, how big is the difference between the two in terms of suitability for AP? My target scope would be a SW ED100 APO down the track (until I save the money) and to learn the ropes with a 5" Newtonian that I still have sitting around. Apparently it is not easy to align to the southern pole...

Thanks in advance

HJW

The HEQ5 Pro manages fine with my 200P (8"), with care, so would certainly manage with the small scope, and even the 5".

I don't know anything about PA in the southern hemisphere (yes it's not so easy) but I wondered if this would help:

http://www.ozscopes.com.au/How-to-Polar-Align-Equatorial-Mount-Southern-Hemisphere

Alexxx

The NEQ6 is used a lot simply because people get the EQ5 or HEQ5 then start adding items that they eventually get the NEQ6. After that anything bigger really needs a fixed pier and/or observatory. You can throw an EQ6 in a car and drive 20 miles to a dark location but the effort involverd makes it all very difficult, whereas putting the HEQ5 in and driving is not too bad.

Also many seem to be using "large" reflectors and with a 200P or 250P you really need the extra stability and weight of the NEQ6 as a large newtonian acts like a sail to any breeze.