Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Setting up a community observatory

Unicronicus

It occurred to me the other day as to why no one has ever thought about setting up an observatory here, on the Isles of Scilly, with the dark skies that we have due to our low level of light pollution. I know I have only just started with astronomy but I am very keen to start the ball rolling with some kind of permanently positioned observatory that could house, say, 10 people at a time.

Since I am new to astronomy and setting up any kind of business/project at all, I was hoping some of you might be able to help me with this endeavour. Key points I would need to know are:

A) What scope, mount, observing method to use depending on my budget or grant received? I have seen telescopes like these http://www.obsessiontelescopes.com/telescopes/25/ but I'm not sure how user friendly these are when it comes to finding and tracking an object (as opposed to an EQ/GOTO mount)

B) What to house the telescope assembly and other equipment in to cater for 10 people? I'm thinking more of a permanent block building supplied with electricity with a dome on top. I have seen the 'garden' type observatories but they are too small, flimsy, and it needs to be secure!

C) How to go about getting planning permission, possible sites to facilitate the observatory.

D) How would I go about getting funding for such a project? I need to know the possible routes I can take to achieve the funding I need to build something of this magnitude. I was also planning on trying to earn a living out of this, like bookable tours, opportunity for proffesional photographers to use their own cameras, merchandise/souvenirs etc... I was also wondering how one could help the astronomy community and the likes by doing exploratory work for them on a regular basis?