Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Good viewing in Brittany?

Inspired by the recent thread on packing up for the summer (please say it ain't so, I'm only just taking delivery of my first scope this week!) and people taking their scopes on holiday, I was wondering if anyone had any experience of observing in Brittany?

I am off to Dinan in August and am optimistically thinking I'll schelpp my new Skywatcher 150P and EQ5 mount along for a go and was wondering if any of you had any tips, bearing in mind I'm a total telescope newb. Thanks.

I only have experience of observing in Brittany. :)

By August the summer nights will be getting longer again, noticeably so with sunsets around 9.30 pm down to 9pm towards the end of the month.

The days can be very hot, sometimes being the hottest place in Europe thus nice and toasty at night.

The Milky Way make a great spectacle.

Might suffer a little from high altitude turbulence.

If you can sneak the scope in, go for it, otherwise a pair of big binos will give great pleasure.

Have a great trip,

Rich

For scope and stellarium

48.4564° N, 2.0489° W

For local seeing conditions. (pretty accurate but only gives 3 days)

http://www.meteoblue.com/fr/france/meteo-dinan-22882/seeing

Haul the kids all the way to the very top of Mont St Michel, anyone would sleep well after all the steps. ;)

For cracking sunsets + photo opportunities head over to Cap Frehel Lighthouse, even the big boys setup on the cliffs.

For vertigo inducing wobbles, climb to the top of the roof at Fort La Latte just round the corner from the above lighthouse (castle used in the film The Vikings).

post-34135-0-97209300-1399544162_thumb.j