NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Which Mount & Scope

As a beginner I started out last year with an EQ3-2 mount + since added basic motor drive, currently used with a Skywatcher 150PL, with the aim of finding out about astronomy + if I liked it, before splashing the cash.  I now know I like astronomy, enjoy viewing and would like to pursue imaging (have been doing DSLR & webcam planetary stuff so far), in particular DSO.  I now realise I need a better mount and will probably get a decent refractor for imaging.

1. I would appreciate thoughts / pros and cons of the HEQ5 Pro SynScan  Equatorial mount vs it's EQ6 equivalent; at the moment I'm erring towards the HEQ5 for better portability.

2. Which refractor for a budget of between £750 and £1,500 - or put differently what to look out for for DSO imaging; I rather like the look of the Orion ED80T Triplet apochromatic but am concerned that 80mm might be too small?    

Your Choices are very sound.  The HEQ5 Pro Mount is a proven Mount. Just like the NEQ6 Pro. I went for the NEQ6 Pro, as due to my balcony and possible vibrations I needed something more heavy and more solid.

The difference between the HEQ5 Pro and NEQ6 Pro is basically carrying capacity.  The HEQ5 Pro limit is 15 kg Visual and +/- 9 kg imaging.  The NEQ6 Pro limit is 23 kg Visual and +/- 15 kg imaging.

So for me, the NEQ6 Pro was also more future proof for me. About as Heavy as I can carry with my back problems.

Starting out in long exposure (DSO) imaging, a short focal length APO refractor is indeed the recommended choice to start out with. It's easier and more forgiving.

The SW Equinox 80ED Pro is a very popular Choice of Scope. If you have the Budget, then you could opt for a true triplet APO like the SW Esprit 80 or WO GTF81. the AltAir Astro Wave 80 triplet APO is also a popular choice.