Cross hairs from main scope visable in eyepiece

Hi all

Sorry newbie here  with possibly a daft question.

I have a skywatcher 130 eq2  complete with 10 mm and 25mm supplied lenses . These are great for moon etc but when i look at a bright star i can only see rough round light shape  and the cross hairs of the end off the scope . Why do i see them please ?

Thanks 

David 

Hi David,  It sounds like your out of focus, when the focus is right the stars will be dots and the spider (wires) will not show (think of it as you like when are driving you don't see windscreen because you are focusing beyond it.

Cheers

Ross

Thanks  gents now sorted. Real schoolboy error .Just thought I would get a better view of stars  than small dots ! also alot of shake on the scope .Really not sure what to look out for when the moons hiding ?

Thanks 

David 

Thanks  gents now sorted. Real schoolboy error .Just thought I would get a better view of stars  than small dots ! also alot of shake on the scope .Really not sure what to look out for when the moons hiding ?

Thanks 

David 

Jupiter !!!

It's high in the sky right now and about the brightest thing up there.

Jupiter !!!

It's high in the sky right now and about the brightest thing up there.

Yes got it . Could see markings running about 150 degrees .

When I stars  centralised  rather quickly they  moves out of view to the top left ( is this scope not balanced ) also what magnification lenses would you recommend  to have in your kit . I have at present only what came with scope  10/25 and barlow ?

Thanks 

David 

Have a look at the Orion nebula while it is still on show - easy to find - just point your scope at Orion's sword.

Try a double star or two - Mizar is the middle star in the handle of the plough - it is a triple star on closer examination. Castor is an easy star to find, also a nice double.