NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

colourblind

Hi all

Just starting out and last night was the first proper time with my new scope Nexstar 127 SLT, I had difficulty reading the red lettering on the handset, and that got me wondering if my red / green blindness will have any effect on my viewing, both positive and negative.

looking forward to your answers

learning new things about color blindness. apparently there is a form of hereditary color blindness which kills your ability to see red totally. So for a person suffering from protanopia , the red led display would be pretty much black or very very dark. 

Hello Paul and welcome.

With general viewing I don't think (I'm no expert) will cause you any issues at the EP. Everything we see through the EP is in shades of grey as they eye is not sensitive enough to see the colours. The only issue may be if you do imaging and I'm sure you will be aware as to what you can see on a computer and what you can't.

By all accounts it is a men only condition. Women don't suffer from colour blindness. Something in their genes that means they don't get it.

It's not only men only, but mostly in men. The genetic fault causing colour blindness often exists on the X chromosome. Men only have one X chromosome, so a fault means colour blindness. Woman have two X chromosome, and they'd both need to have the same fault, so it's much rarer in women, though possible. 

As Langy says, it shouldn't make a difference - mostly, things are too dim to do much with the cones, which see colour but need brighter light. Rod cells in the eye are much more sensitive to light, at most frequencies, but only 'see' in black and white. That's why at night everything is shades of grey. The reason people use red lights for torches/handsets is that rods also don't react much to red light, so you can use a red lamp to use your cones to read, etc., without disturbing the dark adaption of your rods as much.