NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Think i might have messed up !!!

hi all , being a complete newbie , I have read and watched videos on colomating a reflector . seeing as I own a reflector myself I bought a laser colomating tool a few weeks ago . my scope has given me some great views in wich I really cant fault to be honest but I have read so many posts saying you need to colomate every time you use your scope . so I used the tool today and the spot was a mile out ,, withought reading the instructions (cus im a bloke) I adjusted the primary mirror screws on the rear of the scope and got the dot centered . then (being a bloke) I read the instruction leaflet . ... :shocked: ... it doesn't mention touching the primary mirror :huh:  it just tells you to adjust the secondary (whoops). now as I look into the scope without an eyepiece in th center ring on the primary is way off center on the secondary . is this right or is it a case of getting someone who knows to sort it out for me ??? at this moment in time im feeling like a right div to be honest lol . any advise is greatly apprieciated . cheers and beers Dave

I use a collimation cap to get the secondary right first then use a laser with 2x barlow for the primary. Theres loads of threads on here to read! Pain to start with but you will get better each time.

Sent from my GT-I8160 using Tapatalk 2

First thing to check is is the collimator actually collimated (aligned).

The collimator needs to sit in a V-block and be rotated and if the beam makes a circle on a convenient wall then it needs to be adjusted so that the beam stays as a fixed spot.

Then you can use it to collimate a newtonian. Unless the actual tool is correct you will be un-collimating the scope.