Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Focal ratios

Looking to purchase a scope and I'm trying to get my head around focal ratios. I'm a keen photographer so I understand the technical side but I don't know how that translates into reality with using telescopes.  I've read that scopes with focal ratios of 10 or more aren't good for imaging or deep sky, faint objects, etc yet the marketplace seems to be full of high end scopes of f10 or more. Is the f10 of one scope different from the f10 of another?

the principles are the same as photography in that an f10 scope/lens gathers data for an image at a much slower rate than an f5 scope/lens. longer exposures = harder to track etc for the same data.

there's no real difference visually other than a slower f10 scope has a much longer focal length than a faster scope of the same aperture.

Focal ratios of 10+ are commonly used for planetary imaging -- narrow field of view, large image scale on bright targets.  They're not good for imaging faint targets though because in photography terms the optics are very slow.  For that you ideally want something nearer, say, f/5.

The principle is the same as photography really, but you're much more limited in terms of how you can change the focal length and generally you don't want to "stop down" because doing so loses resolution as well as the amount of light that can be collected in a given time.

James

It is confusing.

The way i think of it is in astronomy equipment, the higher the focal ratio, the narrower the field of view.

So f/4 has a wide field of view good for many of the deep space objects as many are quite big; f/15 has a much narrower field of view so lends it self to smaller [and brighter] objects like the things found in our solar system (planets, moon, sun if used with appropriate filters and precautions).

There is also the issue about the "speed of the optics" which i'm still unclear about no matter how many times it's been discussed on here!