NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

What size to take pictures / videos DSLR

Sean L

Hi, I took my first astro pics the other night using my new dslr and when I up loaded them to my computer I quickly realized that I had shot them at a huge size (I think its was around 5k but thats off the top of my head).  When it came to processing all of the images I had real problems as the file sizes were so large and as a result had to lower the quality of my images to make them a workable size.  So I thought id ask what sizes other people shot at and kept a nice quality image or if you prefer to just reduce the size another way? Thanks!  

18.1MP RAW files - you want as much data as you can get (I presume you are taking deep sky). Yes you have to wait or get a powerful pc!

Tell us some more - what is your set up... are you using a camera lens or a scope at prime focus?

I'm a beginner myself and not wanting to throw away and of the multitude of shots you soon end up investing in external hard drives. I also try to take images with one pc and process them with another (the more powerful one) so you are not tied up whilst it's working.

I always shoot at maximum resolution. You can never have too much detail. I also shoot jpg + RAW. I don't know if the resolution setting effects RAW files.

As long as your target doesn't fill the whole frame, you can always crop your image in a programme like PIPP. PIPP will crop each frame of the ones you select and centres your target so making stacking in a programme like Registax easier.

HTH.

You want to be shooting in RAW which means you can read out the signal as the cera stores it. If you use a smaller setting, the camera still takes a 5000x3000 image, but it then rescales it to a smaller size before writting it to the SD card. You have no idea how it is doing the scaling andit will them store the image as an 8 bit jpeg rather than a 14 bit raw file.