Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Maxvision 24mm eyepiece: built-in eyecup?

JulianFR

Hi... I was very lucky to receive a Maxvision 24mm/68 degree eyepiece for Christmas. And I was doubly lucky to be able to use it last night for the first time and admire the beautifully crisp, almost 3D views. I have a question though and wonder if anyone can help...

I thought it had a built-in useful, but if it does I can't see how to raise it. I have tried gently twisting (like my BST eyepieces) and pulling and pulling the barrel up, but no joy. I don't want to force anything. But without an eyecup my lashes are close to the glass and I'm concerned it will be smeared.

This is by far my biggest eyepiece ... Like a hand grenade nest to my BSTs and WO 6mm SPL. It really tipped the front of my Dob down so I had to tighten it on the base carefully. Well worth it though!

Also re eyepieces, as a beginner, I was interested to find my best views of Jupiter last night were with my BST 8mm rather than the WO 6mm ... Although smaller, the disc was sharper. In the 8mm the disc was a bit fuzzy and was more difficult to focus, although the Lacerta micro-focuser helped. I guess that was seeing conditions rather than any eyepiece quality issue?

Happy New year ... And thanks for any advice re the eyecup question.

Julian

ES site says:

Featuers
- All surfaces multicoated
- Twisting rubber eyecup
- Lens edges blackened
- Barrel diameter 1.25" (31,8mm)
- Net weight 386g

So I guess a little more grip and torque needs to be applied.

No idea about the ES ones but the BST's could stick and people had to not be so gentle as expected, usually the first time.

Wondered what a "Built-in useful" was. :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Get to 250 posts then you can edit.

Took me a little while to work this out too! I have a couple of 82 degree Maxvisions, presumably the 68s work in the same way.