Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Getting the best from my SkyMax 127 + using the Focuser

Good evening.

I last posted on here just over a year ago now and I'm ashamed to say i have neglected my scope some what over the last year.

but now I've been bitten by the bug again and have been getting excited to be using it again.

I own a SkyMax 127 with the SynScan AZ GOTO 127mm Maksutov-Cassegrain.

I'm pretty new to all this and with having a year away seem to be even greener than before.

I'm hoping to venture out from the enclosure of my back garden. but i would like to get a bit more associated and comfortable with using the scope and motor settings, which i have to say is pretty easy to use and set up.....apart from one thing....... there's always something.!!!!

The Focuser on the scope is proving to be a bit tricky to use. Its heavy to turn, The scope shakes when trying to focusing which means its difficult to actually focus on something if anything. Last advice I received was to modify a lid from a peanut butter jar to fit over the focuser......... has this advice been improved or is this still the general feeling, without spending a fortune.?

also, is there anyone out there that has the same scope or one similar that can share advice  on how to get the best out of the scope.

I would also like to learn about astrophotography.... but maybe I should learn to walk instead of running first.

Can anyone suggest any alternative focusers for this scope or any advice on how i can make life simpler with this focuser? i'd be appreciative on any advice.

Also, i'm based in Flitwick, Bedfordshire. is there anyone on here that knows of or lives local that knows of some good spots to view the night sky.

thanks for your time guys

Wilkie

There's not any kind of "lock" on the focuser on that scope that might not be fully disengaged is there?