Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First telescope

Hi all, I am an absolute beginner with astronomy, but after years of being interested in the stars and planets, Ive come to a point in my life where I want to take the plunge and buy my first telescope. I've spent the last few days researching and think I've narrowed it down to the Skywatcher 150P. I want to start with just observing to familiarise myself with the night sky, but am interested in doing some imaging at a later date. I am looking at the EQ3-2 mount with possibly adding a motor drive at a later date.

Do you think this is a good place to start in terms of portability, stability, magnification etc... I dont want to get out there and find tiny images of the planets and wish I'd spent extra money on a 200P

Also, what lenses should I be looking at to maximise magnification?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

If you are interested in imaging than the first thing you will have to consider is your choice of EQ3-2.

I know that there are some guys who actually manage to do it, but for majority (myself included) EQ3 is barely stable enough for visual observing when used with 150p.

By the time you add few accessories like 2" eyepieces, RACI finderscope, Telrad, etc, etc  :grin:  you will be overloading poor EQ3.

You will start by adding sand to the aluminium tripod to stabilise it (debatable improvement), followed by stripping down and rebuild of the actual mount (search here for actual description of this project) and you will wish you have spent money on something else.

150p is easily portable and good scope to start with - you should read Qualia's thread  What Can I Expect to See?  to get an idea what you will see.

Hope this gets you started?