NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Any Skywatcher Quattro 8S opinions?

Hi

I'm a newbie here :) I'm thinking of getting a Quattro 8S for DSO AP... The specs look good, I like the fast optics but appreciate the need for a coma corrector for best results. I'm also a wee old lady (well, not that wee, and not that old!) but I have to consider a scopes manageability. So all seems good on paper. However, it doesn't appear that many people have one i.e. they don't seem as popular as the equivalent 200pds. So I'm wondering if anyone has any experience of the Quattro and whether there may be some particularly 'bad' things about it.

Thanks in advance. 

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The most important question for deep sky AP is: 'what mount are intending to put it on?'

The known problems with the Quatro are the focuser, most people replace it with a heavier duty version. And the required accuracy of collimation and focus at f/4 to get good results. The build quality and thermal expansion of the steel tube version means it needs a fair bit of hands-on to keep it sweet. I don't have one (I use a 150P) but I have seen some very nice images from people get them to work and have seen quite a few people buy them and then get rid of them again without managing to post an image because of the hard work required.

The most important question for deep sky AP is: 'what mount are intending to put it on?'

The known problems with the Quatro are the focuser, most people replace it with a heavier duty version. And the required accuracy of collimation and focus at f/4 to get good results. The build quality and thermal expansion of the steel tube version means it needs a fair bit of hands-on to keep it sweet. I don't have one (I use a 150P) but I have seen some very nice images from people get them to work and have seen quite a few people buy them and then get rid of them again without managing to post an image because of the hard work required.