Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

not sure what is happening

hi i have just started stargazing as i got a celestron astromaster 114 eq

i have used this during the day and it gives clear images and can focus it easily

however when i used it at night i managed to find an orange coloured "star" above orions belt i have 2 pictures the second one i tryed to zoom in and i for some reason have the centre piece of my telescope is this normal it happened with both the 10mm and 20mm eyepiece's

3000_normal.jpeg

(click to enlarge)

3001_normal.jpeg

(click to enlarge)

when these images where seen my telescope was almost vertical pointing directly up please help me understand what has happened as i really want to become good at this stargazing stuff :D

What you have there is an image of an out of focus star, as seen in the secondary mirror of your telescope. The black lines you see, are the spider vanes that hold the secondary to the tube.

If you want to take pictures this way, I would stick to the moon, at least until you have mastered the art of focusing the telescope using your camera. I assme the camera is a point and shoot type, and not a DSLR. If you intend to use the camera for taking images through the scope.

Do it through your lowest power eyepiece ie the one with the largest number whatever that is. You can't take a picture with a fixed lens camera theough the scope unless you have an eyepiece in place too. I fear that in the image with the spider showing, you did not have an eyepiece in the drawtube. Also, taking pictures this way is hard, because it is difficult to hold the camera steady during the exposure. There are special brackets available to fix the camera to the telescope to make life easier for you.

Ron.

The star in your first image shows blue colour one side, orange the other. That is usually the result of it being close to the horizon (moisture in the air has a prismatic effect). Also, have you collimated your scope?