NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Can someone please help me the sky is clear!!

Hello, the sky here in Nottingham is clear and for the first time since christmas I have a chance to actually use my scope :rolleyes:

The big problem I have is that I can't see anything through it :rolleyes: I have put it outside for now in the garden to cool down as I saw someone say here to do that first but I still can't actually see anything! I have tried the Barlow x2 piece and others I think a 10ml and 20ml and a 1.5 something I am sorry I dont know what they are I am a total noob :shock:

I have looked through my dads bino's tonight when I went round for tea and the stars looked very nice it is amazing how clear they are even through an old batty set of bino's so I am desperate to get out tonight while it is still visable.

Please help me :D

http://www.camcentre.co.uk/shop/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=35

It is about as basic as they come as far as I can see from here but I can't see anything at all!

Just been out again in between posting and I get a small yellow dot and that is it, maybe I have put it together wrong? I really don't know but I am very dissapointed considering everyone else seems to get set up ok. Maybe I am just a mong :D

You have a 60mm refractor.

This should be fine. The best way to start off would be to use the lowest maginification possible. In your case it will be the eyepiece marked 20mm. Do not use anything else with this as yet. Point the scope at the small yellow dot (If you can't find this then a street light in the distance would do. Then try focussing the scope. You may need to wind the focusser quite a bit to do this.

If this works then the scope is put together ok. Try pointing at different stars. Stick with the 20mm eyepiece until you are happy with what you should be doing.

Hope this helps

Rob

Hi I am also a newbie here so it looks like 2 idiots together in this thread.