Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Tweaking total error in PHD

Evening eveyone, i have a quick question regarding tweaking phd, below is a shot of my graph from tonight showing the Ra / Dec PA errors & total, is this good enough or can i tweak something to tighten this up a little.

The sub is 1 x 25 mins, very slight egging starting to show, would i get away with using this or bin it ?

post-11075-0-49371100-1384910145_thumb.j

post-11075-0-59699000-1384910171_thumb.j

Maybe phd is , for me, at it's best but maybe i could get it better.

Thank you in advance.

the graph looks pretty good to me, i am no expert but a 25 minute sub does sound very long and to get a mount to track for that length of time is excellent. you must have some very nice dark skies as well

Agreed the graph dosen't look bad but before i started guiding through the handset the RA was almost straight & i was struggling with DEC, im not saying i'm struggling with RA now but it's wavier than i thought, i put RA aggression up to 105.

Next night out i will make a few adjustments as i appreciate the 'tweak' could be absolutley anywhere.

Skies are not that dark at all tbh, & nearly a full moon, i wanted to see how long i could go & get good(ish) stars.

Thanks for your reply appreciated.

Hi Ewan,

What are your settings for the Declination axis in PHD, because i can;t see them in the screenshot..

My DEC graph keeps going upwards.. and i don't know how to correct it.

Thanks,

Andrew

Check your balance, then the PA. It is usually one or the other.

A.G

Hi Ewan,

What are your settings for the Declination axis in PHD, because i can;t see them in the screenshot..

My DEC graph keeps going upwards.. and i don't know how to correct it.

Thanks,

Andrew

Hi Andrew,

Can you let us know your setup you are using for imaging as it may be easier to help, as Lensman57 sais 'Check your balance, then the PA. It is usually one or the other.', that's the 1st place i would look though.