SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

piggy back on a lx90

Hey guys im looking for some words of wisdom from you please :)

Im pretty new to all things astronomy but I recently purchased a used Meade lx90 8" SCT and was wondering if you could advise me in how to go about piggy backing a refractor on it.

I want it for wide field views of objects that wont fit in the view of the main scope. and possibly for guiding my video camera at some point.

I've been reading and the st80 seems to come up a lot... so thats one option... but my first scope was a celestron 70 travel scope that i gave to a friend... i could get that back as he never uses it.... would that work?

Prob a stupid question but... i keep reading about this 80ed thats amazing apparently. If i could pick up a used one cheapish would that work nah? Im guessing it would be too big and heavy? 

Cheers

Chris

Thanks for the pics and links. Much appreciated!

That setup looks like it could turn out expensive. I was hoping to keep the costs down if possible. Ive been searching and I found this

http://www.telescopehouse.com/acatalog/Mount_Rings_5___Asymetric_For_8__LX.html.

Looks like the cheapest and simplest option. Would these support a small refractor ok yeh?

If I was to use these rings and the celestron 70 travel scope I think it only weighs 1kg or something would I still need a counter weight system?

Thanks for the pics and links. Much appreciated!

That setup looks like it could turn out expensive. I was hoping to keep the costs down if possible. Ive been searching and I found this

http://www.telescopehouse.com/acatalog/Mount_Rings_5___Asymetric_For_8__LX.html.

Looks like the cheapest and simplest option. Would these support a small refractor ok yeh?

If I was to use these rings and the celestron 70 travel scope I think it only weighs 1kg or something would I still need a counter weight system?