NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Looking for a telescope for DSO observations.

Hey.

I am looking to upgrade my 60700 telecope to a 130mm aperture one or higher.

I stopped at two choices:

Celestron Astromaster 130EQ Motor:

and

Explorer130P

They come with different mounts 130EQ is on CG2 and 130P is on EQ2 and I have no experience using this kind of mounts. I am wondering which of the two would be better?

Perhapes you could recommend other telescopes that would be ideal for observing DSOs.

• Replies 49
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Before anyone else gets in there...

Dobsonian!!!

If you're after views of DSOs then aperture is what you need rather than an EQ mount, and you won't get more aperture for your money than with a dob. I can thoroughly recommend this one: Heritage 130p which will give you the same aperture but for less money (so you can get yourself a nice low power eyepiece!) or if you can stretch your budget a bit then the 200mm Skyliner will not disappoint you. Keep an eye out for second hand dobs as well as they come up quite often on ebay and sites like Astro Buy and Sell.

Craig

LOL -- I knew somebody would through in the word ''Dobsonian''...

Yes, Dobsonian are great value for money. But they lack the rich wide field a refractor could provide.

How's that?

Field of view (visually) is down to magnification and the field of view of the eyepice. A 6 inch F5 refractor (for example) has exactly the same FOV as a 6 inch F5 reflector with the same eyepice.

Go for the 200P Skywatcher dobsonian....great value for money and an 8 inch scope has enough aperture to see a good few DSO's from a dark site, but is still small enough to be easily portable. Visdually, for DSO's, aperture rules.

I have conidered Dobsonians, but their size is what worries me. My only way of transportation is a bicycle, so transporting a 200p dobson would be impossible, wouldn't it?

Er yes, that's the 200P out of the running then! :)