NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Total beginner, so any help is great !!!

We had a look through a Bessier messier r102 at a friends house the other night and we're hooked and would like to think about getting a telescope for ourselves. The telescope we tried was 6 years old , but the moon and planets were stunning.

We don't want anything too complicated just something to view moon, planets etc, however as we have a direct view to the observatory on the top the Pic du Midi, Pyrenees , I was wondering if one can get a celestial / terrestrial telescope in one ? As the views of the mountains are so beautiful from here, And if so which one would people advise us to look at ? I like the idea of remote controls that may or may not make life easier for us to use it.

as you can tell we're total amateurs so any thoughts / help / pushing us in the right direction would b

e so appreciated.

thank you

How much would you like to spend?

Erecting prisms turn telescopes into terrestrial spotting scopes. Binoculars can be put on tripods.

Either, buy a pair of binos.

Or, Buy a relatively cheap skywatcher or Celestron scope on a motorised EQ mount. You can get them used and sell them again, should you not like it.

Scopes with long focal length give u greater magnification. Scopes with greater aperture give you brighter targets.

There is no "one true telescope".

There is a wide variety of scopes in the market and before you start handing out cash, I'd read a bit first (backyard astronomer). It's too much info to put into a forum post.

Welcome to the dark side...

Russe said many importaint things to consider, but if you want to see galaxies and nebulas, you should consider getting a 8" or 10' telescope if you can afford and transport it in a car.

Nothing is more importaint then aperture if you are also interested in faint objects.