Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Just a camera on a tripod...

post-31556-0-84243000-1376928367_thumb.j My first ever astrophotography pic. I took this using a Nikon D60 mounted on a tripod with an exposure time of 30 seconds. Not the best photo ever taken, but hay, you gotta start somewhere. I was actually quite surprised to be able to make out the double star in the "handle" of the Plough.

Hi Guys. To be completely honest - I don't know what type of lens it is (It is the one that came with the camera) but this is what is printed on the top: Nikon DX AF-S Nikkor 18-55mm 1:3.5 - 5.6 G and this is printed on the bottom: Nikon DX SWM VR Aspherical 8(Infinity sign) - 0.28m/0.92ft o52 . I have just had a look at what settings the camera is still set on and it looks like f5 but i'm not sure. I know I had a play and got the shutter to open as wide as possible though. Sorry I can't be more help but I don't really know how to use the camers properly yet either... I'm new to photography too...very new. As for light pollution, I live on the very edge of a fairly large town and this shot was taken from my back garden about 20 meters from a bright street light. Sorry if this is all useless information for you.