NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Aaah - just bought DSLR - is the wife now leaving me?

Hi guys, am positively giddy now. Just bought a Canon 450D for 160£ and am now wondering how I'll get that passed the missus!!! My birthday is only in November... She's gonna kill me!!!

Ps. What sort of T adaptor, cables and programmes do I need now for capturing LX images?

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I think you should look at Deep Sky Stacker and Photoshop or GIMP for final touches. Sharpcap is a webcam program.

Yeah, I'm using DSS and PS5.

I was more on about the actual photo capture. Am not gonna invest at this point into Nebulosity or Artemis...

I was more on about the actual photo capture. Am not gonna invest at this point into Nebulosity or Artemis...

The basic way is just snap on a memory card with a timer remote. I've no experience with canon but there is a program called Backyard EOS that's resonably cheap.

Yeah, I wanted to snap laptop controlled as I'm using EQMOD anyway.

Oh I get it. Have a look here: http://www.store.shoestringastronomy.com/products.htm Basicly you need a shutter cable to let the computer take exposures. I'm not sure but you should check up if there is a way to snap direcly over USB. On Nikon I can take up to 30sec subs with just the USB, but unfortunately need a cable that works as a computer controlled timer remote for longer exposures.

i have used APT to control my 1100D and also use a remote controller sourced on E-bay for less then £12, allows in-excess of 30 second exposures, time interval ect....

Something like this for your model....

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LCD-TIMER-REMOTE-CONTROL-FOR-CANON-EOS-550D-600D-1100D-/140815537746?pt=UK_Photography_DigitalCamAccess_RL&hash=item20c9429652