NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

FOV possible to widen with a camera on a t mount?

I have a Celestron 6SE and a Nikon D3100 on a T adapter - both new and I am new to this too! I managed to take a few short snaps last night - but I really wanted a wider field of view - is it possible to widen the field of view in this fixed arrangement or are you stuck with what you have with the telescope? Also anyone else with the same set up and tips would be welcome - I could not get the movie mode to work on the D3100 - I assumed it was because it had no lens attached but am not sure.I have beautiful dark skies down here in Grenada and was able to clearly see M17 last night - but couldn't get the camera set up in time! (Forgot the cover inside the T adapter was still on!! = lot of frustration).

There are a couple of possibilities. GIven a fixed focal length you can't actually change the amount of sky that is covered by a given area of the camera sensor, but you can change the focal length to get more sky covered by the same area, or use a bigger sensor to record more of the image at the focal plane.

So, if your camera is APS-C, you could go to a full frame camera for instance. The problem here is that the telescope may not light the entire sensor up and you'll see vignetting on the image (quite possibly with a C6 I'd have thought). Alternatively you can get a focal reducer that reduces the effective focal length of the telescope and allows your existing sensor to cover a larger area of the sky. Reducers can be critical as regards spacing and may not produce a large enough field of view that is well-focused, so that still may not work out for you.

Or you could use a shorter focal length scope to start with. Sometimes it's easier to fix the problem at source :)

James

Hi