Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

newtonian reflectors

Hi Guys

im pretty new to all this but i am getting there with it all.... the time has come to clean my primary mirror and i am a bit nervous about it i've watched a vid on how to clean the mirror but i am not 100% sure how to get it out of my telescope any help would b greatly appreciated.

Haven't done this myself yet, but the first question many would ask you is, does it really need cleaning? They should only be cleaned when absolutely necessary from what I've heard.

Scott.

To be honest - I did this earlier this year and found it a doddle - like collimation, sometimes I think some people seem to exaggerate how hard these things are to achieve.

My mirror was rather dusty so after removing the mirror cell I gave it a very very gentle wipe with a soft lint free cloth (quid for a packet down the local market) it ended up as good as new - it didn't need any washing as it didn't seem to require any. The only thing that surprised me was the thickness of the mirror (I have a Skywatcher 200P) - I always thought about the mirror like, you know, a think mirror that one shaves in - but it is pretty much the thickness of the actual cell, so that kind of caught me off guard - but other than that I cleaned it and replaced it with no problems at all.

DId I scratch the mirror? As far as I can tell it is tip-top - but then again I only use my scope for imaging with a DSLR and casual observation - so my optics don't really need to be scientific grade quality.

Good luck!

Thing with mirror cleaning is there are a lot of factors:

What do you consider dirty and so needing a clean.

Very personnel decision.

Do you clean little and often or leave it for a longer period.

One means you could damage during one of the cleans other means more grit build up to damage it when you clean it.

How prepared/confident are you to do it.