Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Laptop controlled HEQ5

Hi everyone,

I want to controll my HEQ5 goto with my laptop.

What are the best ways of doing this?

Do I need any specific software?

Anything anyone can recommend?

I have Starry Night 6 Pro and Stellarium. Would they be any good?

I'm a bit of a novice still :(

Oh, and I have a cable that looks like it is serial at one end and telephone like at the other!!!!

Thanks

Hi Martin,

By the sounds of it - you've got everything you need to get started!

You first need to install the ascom drivers: http://ascom-standards.org/downloads.html these provide an interface between programs such as starry night, dslr focuser and your telescope (or other astro equipment such as electric focusers).

Then you need to make sure you can connect the serial cable to your computer, if you don't have a serial port then you will need a usb-serial adaptor.

Assuming you've got it connected to the computer, the phone jack end of the cable needs to go in the bottom of your heq5 handset, there should be a spare socket (not the one that connects the handset to the mount - the other one).

Once thats all connected, in starry night you need to go to the telescope control panel and setup your telescope - heq5 aren't listed so you need to select celestron, then choose a nexstar 8i as your telescope. Choose EQ N as the mode rather than alt/az, setup your long/lat and choose the correct serial port.

Then back to starry night you should be able to connect with the mount and you will see a marker in starry night to show you where the mount is pointing, you can then click on something and tell the mount to move there...

Hope that helps a little - its a bit vague because its from memory!

Cheers,

Grant

Thanks guys,

Funnily enough, the laptop is that old, it's my wifes old work laptop and she has no other use for it. Due to its age it has a serial port - and it runs Starry night :(