Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

complete noob question on eyepieces :)

Giving the space we had to store my new teliscope i had to go for the skyliner 150p over the 200 but my question is what views should i get from the standered 10mm and 25mm i got with the scope and do you thing a x2 barlow would be a good next investment

The magnification of a given eyepiece can be calculated by:

M=focal length of telescope/focal length of eyepiece.

The standard eyepieces are not that good. Most people upgrade their eyepieces very soon! Though with the 150p you will get some pretty amazing views of Saturn, Jupiter and most messier objects!

Just use the existing eps till you are used to the scope , call it practice . Then invest in some better eps and you will see a noticeable difference( I did and they don't have to cost a fortune either go for ), a 2x Barlow will give you four magnifications with those two eps so doubles the usefulness , if you can find one the tals are quite good but there are many acceptable others as I'm sure the other peeps on here will agree.

I can't give you real technical jargon mate cos I don't understand it , I've just had fun learning along the way ;)