Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Whats with the brush strokes

Hi

So this is 3 hours worth of 300 sec exposures, darks and flats, there is plenty more histogram to stretch but no matter how gentle I am the brush stroke effect just gets worse and worse

Pointers appreciated

Regards

John B

post-4419-0-22510700-1367955439_thumb.jp

I had a fiddle in pixinsight (you can download a trial copy but there is a bit of a learning curve)

I'm just a novice at this but I noticed there was a lot of blue/green noise when stretched.

I converted your image above to 32bit floating point

ran the dynamic background extraction to remove gradients

ran the repaired HSV and backgound enhance scripts a few times

tweaked the histogram manually

ran ACDNR & SCNR noise reduction

did deconvolution

probably get a better result with a larger file to start with though

post-9935-0-54568500-1368098265_thumb.pn

The 'brush strokes' IMHO is due to drift, warm sensor, and no dither.

- Drift is due to misalignment with the north celestial pole.

- Warm sensor is due to not allowing the DSLR to cool between subs. 20-30 seconds minimum is often quoted.

- Dither is the practice of moving the telescope a fraction between each sub to make sure each pixel isn't constantly aimed at the same patch of sky. Software does this for you.

All in all this helps a long way in combating the streaks. Just 2p.

/Jesper

The 'brush strokes' IMHO is due to drift, warm sensor, and no dither.

- Drift is due to misalignment with the north celestial pole.

- Warm sensor is due to not allowing the DSLR to cool between subs. 20-30 seconds minimum is often quoted.

- Dither is the practice of moving the telescope a fraction between each sub to make sure each pixel isn't constantly aimed at the same patch of sky. Software does this for you.

All in all this helps a long way in combating the streaks. Just 2p.

/Jesper