NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Celestron Nexstar 102SLT or Skywatcher Skyliner 200P

Hi there, this is my first post of many, i hope, and i am very new to this so would really appreciate some advice.

I am a novice when it comes to stargazing, i live in a quiet and, thankfully, very dark area of Cornwall and want to rekindle my childhood love of the extraterrestrial.

I can buy the two scopes above for pretty much the same price but am unsure if one or either are a good choice for me, the Nexstar is obviously interesting to a newbie with the GoTo set up but i'm assuming the Skywatcher will give more magnification, probably the wrong word.

Any advice on these or other scopes would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks.

Hi and welcome, the Skywatcher will provide you with more aperture. If you are interested in learning visual astronomy, then the 200p dobsonian, combinded with a few fairly inexpensive additional items, applied in dark skys will be a great and straight forward to use set up.

Additional items could include a copy of 'Turn Left at Orion' - available Amazon, a telrad finder and down load www.stellarium.org

You will also require a collimating tool with your purchase.

I would go with the 200P. Not for the magnification but for the light grabbing power, especially if you have dark skies.

The suggestion of 'Turn Left at Orion' by scarp15 is a good one. I have a copy and it is a very useful book for navigating the night sky, teaches you a lot and for the beginner it shows what you might expect to see through bino's, a refractor and a reflector.

If you can transport it or use it on your property (light pollution...) go with the 200mm telescope. 200mm will show you so much more then 100 on deepsky obects. Even my heritage 130p will start to show details my 102mm maksutov did not, not to mehtion the stuff the 10" shows!

Drawings show best what can be seen through a telescope after some practice (and good weather/conditions);