Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Webcam and Barlow

Altomar718

Hi All - I am very new to imaging and astronomy in general and wonder if someone can help ..........

I took some avi of Jupiter last night and centered it as well as I could in Sharpcap and then tried to use a 2x Barlow but could not find it on the screen. I used the retiucle and cetered it using a 3.6mm eyepiece but still no luck ......

Is there any easy way of finding it when using a Barlow (if indeed you can use one with a webcam !!!)

Thanks

Chris

Using the barlow will make the image a lot dimmer and way off focus compared to the view without.

I'd suggest turning the brightness/gain right up so that you can see the out of focus image a lot easier to start and then refocus.

As Steve has said it will look a lot dimmer with the barlow and need different settings. You will get better results with the barlow though and the attached link explains why.

http://www.project-n...cam_imaging.pdf

I use a 3X barlow now and it does take a while to find things but they are still there! Focusing also becomes harder as any tiny movement has the object dancing all over the place. I added an auto focuser to my scope when I started to use the 3X barlow to make it easier.

Using the barlow will make the image a lot dimmer and way off focus compared to the view without.

I'd suggest turning the brightness/gain right up so that you can see the out of focus image a lot easier to start and then refocus.

Steve - You have done it again - Thanks mate and I wished you lived near Bideford so I could come and hassle you with all my questiions !!!

Thanks also Brucen - I have read the document - interesting stuff. One thing it mentions is a good quality Barlow. I only have the one which came supplies with the Skywather scope, so probably cheap and nasty!!