new telescope advice

hi im a complete newby to astronomy been looking for my first telescope i want to veiw as much as possable for my budget which is about a grand i think ive got it down to a celestron nexstar 6se, eyepiece kit, and power tank, but consdering a refactor any help/thoughs appreciated

Welcome to SGL

The nexstar gets good recommendations from members here and a power tank is a very good addition as it seems that one of the major problems is an unreliable power supply. Personally I wouldn't go for an eyepiece kit as I doubt all the eyepieces would get used. This scope is reportedly good for planets and lunar observing and usable for DSOs but not ideal.

One thing that you will need is a dew shield, either home made or purchased.

I cannot comment on refractors.

Take your time and try and see the scope that you decide on in the flesh either at a dealers or an observing session with your local Astro Society.

Good luck

It's a pretty decent all rounder. but it may help with advice if you say why you like that one. These are the usual questions people need answering.

What do you want to see?

where will you view from?

How portable transportable does it need to be?

Do you want to take photo's?

Do you want goto?

When spending that sort of money I suggest that you locate a localish club or two, ask about any observing evenings and get along to one or two.

I like refractors and could easily suggest one or two to buy, others will suggest an assortment of Mak/SCT's and then comes the reflectors. Each can come on at least 2 mounts. You will get told each combination by one person or another. It is easy for us, we are spending your money and if wrong, well thats a bit unfortunate for us but somewhat worse for you.