Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Complete newbie - help please!

Hi, I enjoy seeing all the posts and photos on here, and have been interested in getting started myself. I was given a telescope for xmas, but having been away I am only just setting up. I am looking for constructive advice please, rather than people slagging/slating my xmas gift. I am very pleased and grateful that someone thought enough of me to get me a gift they really thought I would like, so please no snidey 'you should have bought......' or 'it's rubbish.....' type comments please!

I am as new as it gets to stargazing, so have a just out of the box telescope. It is, a Jessops TA100-102 reflector telescope. I managed to build it last night despite the extremely vague instructions. There are however absolutely no user instructions. whatsoever.

Although new, I am not naive enough to think that you just look through it and,voila! I am so new, that I dont know whether both lens cap things have to be removed for use (obviously the one pointing skywards end comes off, but does the groundwards end too?). I also do not know how to put the eyepieces in. There is a Barlow lens thing, which I wont use yet. I have gathered from googling, that to start with I should stick to the biggest number eyepiece. But when I do, does the Barlow thing go in first and then the eyepiece, or vice versa? And there is a moon filter. Where the heck does that go and how? Thanks in advance for any kind and helpful constructive advice!

Ive give you a post to a you tube set up not sure about back plate dont use barlow yet yes use highest number eyepiece first, moon filter should screw onto eyepiece but dont use that either. use the highest number eyepiece first then a lower number to gain more magnification, if you only have one eyepiece then you will have to first use eyepiece to find object you want look at i.e moon then take that out insert barlow and eyepiece in that and refocus.