NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

About to take the plunge - advice needed

Hi,

After some research and speaking with Martin from FLO (very helpful) I'm on the verge of purchasing my first telescope mainly to be used for getting into DSO imaging with some planetary visual. I would like to avoid something really large with a reasonably stress free setup as it's a first scope.

I should start by saying I have no experience in this field although I'm a keen photographer, familiar with shooting HDR, stacking, photoshop etc.

I have a budget of £1000 and decided to go for: Skywatcher 150pds with HE5Q synscan, I will be using a Cannon 1100D and have a pair of 15x70 Skymaster binos.

A few questions...

- Before I pull the trigger I just wanted some expert options on my equipment choices for my needs?

- Also, for imaging I know I will need a T-ring adapter for my 1100D - what else would you recommend at this early stage or is this OK for now?

- I'm not really sure how the whole 'guiding' thing works? Do i need additional guiding equipment or is this done as part of the synscan/mount?

Thanks

the skywatcher coma corrector is a must ! and make sure you get the m48 t-ring with it too.

guiding can be done through a finder or an additional scope mounted on top of the tube rings.

i wouldnt worry to much about guiding yet untill you get your mount you will have get to grips with polar aligning, with accurate polar aligning you will be able to get 2-3 min subs unguided, then once your use to PA and taking your subs then move on into guiding its a big steep learning curve but very rewarding and does your bank in :) also try using either backyard eos or APT to control your 1000d much easier to focus. if you need any help theres lots of thread on here or just drop me a PM im always happy to help the noobs, i think i have encountered nearly every error message system failure that AP can throw at me and now im up and running :)

Hi there