Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

M31 keeps going green, lack of data or wrong processing ?

Hi all, what with the terrible weather i have been 'brushing up' on my processing 'skills', i ran some old M31 data through DSS again but i always have the same problem, my image tinges green or blue, i cannot get any of the core yellow(ish) or any brown in the dust lanes. What am i doing wrong i keep going in circles ?

I appreciate the data was jpeg & over fills my frame (early days of imaging) but the data is good none the less.

post-11075-0-40770400-1357058495_thumb.j

post-11075-0-46284700-1357058518_thumb.j

post-11075-0-46284700-1357058518_thumb.j

Are my RGB/K levels too near centre & need to go more left then raise my Luminance levels instead ? (i have tried MORE rgb/k to the right then Lum to the left & vice versa which seems to do the same but i don't think it does)

Saturation is not too high i feel but im no expert, the cfore always blows out bright white & not small & yellow(ish) like i have seen on a lot of posts it's driving me mad :huh:

Any advice good or bad is much appreciated.

Happy New Year to all.

post-11075-0-49195100-1357058541_thumb.j

If you are stacking Jpegs then the Bayer matrix doesn't come into it.

If the version of DSS you're using supports the 600 then it will de Bayer automatically when using RAWS. You will probably never use FITS files from your camera.

If you have a processing program then do the colours in that. DSS is not meant for final processing. If you have to use DSS then alter the RGB levels to nudge the colours around.

Dave.

Cheers dave ill try just that, just getting some very good (i hope) subs of M31 right now, iso 800 @ 200 mins, then some iso 1600 @ maybe 1.00 min then some @ 30 secs ? sound any good ?