NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

First Light RC8 - Horsehead and Flame (7hrs of data)

split_city

This is my first attempt at imaging the Horsehead nebula with my new RC8 in combination with my modded (un-cooled) Canon 30D. It was taken over 4 nights. I fought high winds one night (still produced round stars...don't know how) and high temperature for one evening (~28 degrees C...hot pixels...yuk!) I was getting more star trails on the nights with no wind but this is likely to be due to me not sorting out balance in DEC yet.

Details

Scope: GSO RC8

Mount: EQ6

Imaging camera: un-cooled, modded Canon 30D

Guide scope: 60mm f/11 refractor

Guide camera: unmodded toucam

Guided using PhD

Sub details: 7hrs of data (84x5mins @ ISO1600)

Stacked in DSS and processed in PS.

First image is my attempt and second shows RAW sub. As you can see in the final, there is a annoying reflection which is likely to be due to LPS filter.

Not completely happy with colour so feedback is more than welcome happy19.gif

Merry Xmas all happy04.gif

post-16171-0-56998000-1356328229_thumb.j

post-16171-0-02338200-1356328320_thumb.j

Nice image there. I have the same internal reflection with mine, it's not due to the filter. It helps sometimes to decrease sub-exposure until you do not see them at all.

Mark

Do you get the same reflection without a filter? What sort of exposure settings are you suggesting. I only did 5 mins subs. I wouldn't think I would capture much if I didn't at least do 5 mins.

liking the image

I have actually attached an update picture as I noticed a green gradient.

post-16171-0-03184400-1356338330_thumb.j

I use it with mono CCD and filters, it's mostly with green and blue.

You are imaging a very bright star and as you can see you get lots of small concentric circles around it. You can search for GSO internal reflection.