Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Question about Xbox live cam...

stonemonkeylives

OK for some reason if got it into my head that I wouldn't be able to do any planetary imaging with the above webcam and my telescope, which is a Skywatcher 130p Supatrak (f/5). Am I right in thinking this or am I being an idiot....again? I just don't seem to be having any joy with my modded cam and Sharpcap. Thank you in advance.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2

OK for some reason if got it into my head that I wouldn't be able to do any planetary imaging with the above webcam and my telescope, which is a Skywatcher 130p Supatrak (f/5). Am I right in thinking this or am I being an idiot....again? I just don't seem to be having any joy with my modded cam and Sharpcap. Thank you in advance.

Although I don't have your scope, I have an Astromaster 130EQ it has the same aperture. It's definately possible to capture Jupiter, and Saturn with the Xbox livecam - I have a few images on here. The only downside I found is that they seem to only be grey rather than colour, however it's a good first start. I've since moved on to the Philips SPC900 and have reasonable results with that aperture - obviously not fantastic detail, but you can see the bands and the great red spot. I take it that once you've captured the avi you run it through Registax - or similar? That is what brings out the details.

I have just ordered one after finding this link. The xbox cam apparently has a ccd sensor therefore suitable for viewing. Check this link out there is stacks of info about the xbox cam.

Will it work with your scope. Yes, for lunar and briget planetary imaging. It might be worth looking at a 4x or 5x powermate (expensive) or an imagemate (bit cheaper) to increase size of image.

Hope this helps

Marc