Is it worth the trouble??

nephilim

Hi, I've been reading an article about modding a webcam for AP one was 4 a lifecam & the other a HP HD-4110, my scope is a Skywatcher 130m EQ2 & was wondering if the photos i would achieve would be worth the effort and expense involved. All opinions welcome. Thanks.

I've no real experience in this area but if its your first go at modding a webcam for AP then I would recommend something a bit simpler/cheaper to start with like the xbox cam, some folks on here have had some really good results with it. If its not your first attempt at nodding then there some other webcam like the HD lifecam which I believe is pretty good. Hope that helps.

sent from Gherkin Muncher mk .III (commonly known as a Galaxy S2)

Since the question came up about 1:00 AM in the morning I doubt that many will have read it yet.

If the mod isn't difficult then why not?

I would check first that the various webcams can be controlled by the software you intend using to set up the parameters.

I suspect that this is why some webcams are more useful then others.

If I recall the life cam is the round one that looks as if it was built to drop into an eyepiece holder.

Considering the lack of Philips SPC's it could be useful to know of alternative webcams and how usable they are.

Since the question came up about 1:00 AM in the morning I doubt that many will have read it yet.

If the mod isn't difficult then why not?

I would check first that the various webcams can be controlled by the software you intend using to set up the parameters.

I suspect that this is why some webcams are more useful then others.

If I recall the life cam is the round one that looks as if it was built to drop into an eyepiece holder.

Considering the lack of Philips SPC's it could be useful to know of alternative webcams and how usable they are.