Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Astro-imaging for a newbie

Hi, I’m not going to kid myself by pretending i know what I’m talking about, so let’s say i am very new to this and need as much feed back as you can muster. :rolleyes:

I’ve been gazing up to the skies for a good couple of years now and I’ve started to take a keen interest in progressing into Astro-imaging / photography in the not too distant future.

I'm currently using a SkyMax 127 with the SynScan AZ GOTO 127mm Maksutov-Cassegrain along with a Canon EOS 500D SLR.

Before i start getting too carried away and excited can anyone advise if this is a good foundation to start with?

is the scope good enough for a varied number of shots etc?

and more importantly, what would you recommend i look into getting to start things rolling?

I have a 1.25" combined T-mount camera adaptor and eyepiece projection unit to fit onto my Canon........ that i'm affraid is as far as i got before i realised, "i could be here along time without some guidance".

Any Advice would be great thanks

The scope and mount will work for the moon and planets (although a webcam is a better bet as a camera. You could try using the movie record mode), but isn't ideal for deep sky. The scope is too slow (long focal length, compared to the aperture), and the mount limits your exposure times to somewhere between 40 seconds and 2 minutes (depending where in the sky you're trying to image... E/W is longest, reducing to N/S/Overhead). If you remove the scope from the mount and just fit your 500d. then you should be able to achieve some nice widefield imaging at focal lengths up to 300 to 400mm. You may find it better to put the camera on the skyhawk mount, as I think that's an EQ mount, and use that for widefield, as the tracking is better suited (you'll need to work out how to set it up as accurately as possible though.

I say, give it a go, work up to the limits, you'll need to work those out, and see how you get on.