Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Problem with Skywatcher-Skyliner 200p

Hi guys i'm new to Astronomy although I have been interested in the universe for many years.

I recently bought the Skywatcher-Skyliner 200p and when I looked through the finderscope the moon was right bang in the middle but when I looked through the lens all I could see was blue sky and clouds (By the way this was in the morning)

If you guys have any idea what could be causing this it would be very helpful.

Thank you for reading this.

The finder scope may not be in line. That's the simplest answer. Viewing in the daytime isn't the best time to view the moon either, especially at the high magnifications.

You said you saw blue sky and clouds? Any chance that a cloud was covering the moon?

No when I looked with my own eyes there were no clouds around the moon but when I was moving my telescope around trying to find it I came across a few clouds, also I dont want to sound dumb but how do you align a finder scope??

There are two small black screws. Adjusting them moves the finder scope within the bracket. There is also a silver thing which stabilises it but you don't need to worry about that. There should also be a rubber band that fits over a groove in the finder That should be in place before you place the finder in the bracket.

In short, aim at something using the main scope (not the sun) and move the black screws until the finder's cross hairs are near the object seen in the EP.

There are two small black screws. Adjusting them moves the finder scope within the bracket. There is also a silver thing which stabilises it but you don't need to worry about that. There should also be a rubber band that fits over a groove in the finder That should be in place before you place the finder in the bracket.