Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Exposure time question

This may be a dumb question, but I'd like to know anyway...

I recently started my astrophotography hobby since I've finally managed to get all my stuff together. I bought a licencekey of Backyard EOS and like it very much! But is it normal that every time I make an exposure of say, 300 seconds, the timer counts to 300 twice? I thought the exposure itself would take 300 seconds and then maybe a few seconds more to transfer the image to the PC through the USB cable. Is this normal or do I need to change a setting in my Canon 1000D?

If it's normal, what does the camera do when it does the second countdown? The second countdown always takes just as long as the first. A 10 sec. exposure takes 20 seconds on my setup, a 10 minute exposure takes 20 minutes. As a beginner, I'm confused how this works :smiley:

Cannot recall where I heard it said but if you take a N second exposure you should then leave the camera to do nothing for the same period.

Seem to have a half recollection of someone saying why, but cannot recall any more then this so cannot supply an more definite idea why this is. Just that it is a vague recollection. So whatever you have may simply be enforcing this.

On that basis if it were me in your position I would not worry overly, but I would however probably drive myself insane trying to find out why.

Actually sure I have heard it on more then one occasion.

I'm not worrying but if I have to wait twice as long as necessary for no reason, then I might as well change whatever is causing it :smiley: . But if it's normal and not because of the noise reduction setting, then there's nothing I can do about it. Next time, I'll try it with noise reduction off and see if I have to wait 10 sec. for a 10 sec. exposure and not 20 sec.