Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help I'm confused

I have a Celestron Omni 120mm refractor on a manual CG4 mount and also 80mm Viven on a mini port - a-mount (for grab and go). I regularly go to a dark sky site a few miles from home.

I am thinking of getting a Skywatcher HEQ5 Pro Synscan go to mount because from my light polluted garden I often cannot see enough stars to star hop.

Then again for the same money I could get a skyliner 200p flex tube dob with GoTo. I assume the dob would be better for deep sky than my refractor which I could use for lunar and planetary. Is this right?

I have no experience of dobs and am not sure if the GoTo works and how easy they're to transport. Is collimating a problem and is it needed frequently ? Would the 200p give me reasonable access to deep sky objects?

Basically I am confused as to which route to take. My interest is in the planets but also messier objects etc.

Any advice, views etc. will be appreciated.

Mike

How long have you been doing astronomy?

I ask as it half seems that you are jumping from one scope to another with the hope that one will suddenly reveal everything.

The 120 is a reasonable size so at a darkish site should show a lot of Messiers, the manual mount means you will not be able to track easily and the absence of goto means you have to locate the objects.

I look at a fair selection of Messiers from the town I am in with a small 70mm, a set of 42mm binoculars reveal quite a few as well.

A 200P will reveal more DSO's, that is what a bigger objective enables, you would get an increase of 277% light collection. With the response of the eye that would mean about an additional magnitude.

A 200P is reckoned to be about the largest to be reasonably transportable. For goto you will need power of some sort where it is to be used.

Collimation, basically something to be learnt, not impossible otherwise another method would have to be found. Read up and figure it out during daylight.