Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Goto mount question

I'm thinking of getting a goto mount at some stage (have been looking at them for some months now) and was just wondering how exactly you power them? Do you use a cable or a rechargeable battery box sort of thing?

Because I've heard of both being used, and just wondered which is better, and whether it comes with the mount? I know on FLO you can buy a power cable with the mount, but the cable appears to end with either a ciggarette charger end or a 'ring tongue' end? I'm assuming you can't plug that in the house?

Forgive me if I sound a bit nooby, I'm new to all this goto stuff and don't want to make the wrong purchase :p

I use a leisure battery which lasts for ages and there are plenty of adaptors you can buy at Maplins and various camping shops that can help you make the connections. Whilst looking at these adaptors, it's always worth buying one that will provide you with a spare outlet in case you want to add in the future additional items like dew heaters and a laptop etc. I bought the power lead from FLO not because my mount didn't come with one (..it did) but because the connection fitting was better and the lead itself was much longer (helpful if you are sharing the power with someone else or just want the power source in a more convenient position). There are additional adaptors that will allow you to plug your mount into your home electric supply but you need to make sure that the supply is properly regulated and again Flo's long cable allows you plenty of scope when positioning your kit.

James

If you use a Maplins rechargeable then do not discharge the pack completely.

They are not intended for the use we make of them and if discharged them they get seriously damaged.

The problem is that when viewing we tend to continue viewing until something stops us, a power pack running flat being an obvious one.