NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Which CCD for £1000?

Torazz

Hi,

I've been imaging for 3 years with a Canon 300D and have been using an off axis autoguider the last 12 months but have been having varying results obtaining focus with my f/6.3 focal reducer(short back focus problem).

Anyone I now would like to switch to an all in one ccd camera.

Can anyone recommend a CCD camera that can autoguide AND image with a budget of around £1000 or less if possible :-)

Cheers guys!!

CPC on a wedge?

Even with f/6.3 reducer/corrector the image scale is very high. I would look for something with bigger pixels. Sanely priced are only small sensors with bigger pixels (Brightstar Mammut). Smaller pixels would have to be binned.

I did some images with C8, and few less with C11. OAG is a "must" for better guiding of those scopes. I use QHY5 with an OAG - it must be focused with the main camera precisely or it wont work. Backfocus isn't rather a problem and you have around 115 mm from the reducer to the camera sensor.

For often and easy DS imaging you would need a much shorter focal length. I use a 65 mm APO and testing some other scope for slightly bigger focal length.

Ok as I use my scope for imaging only now and rarely visual would I be better off selling my CPC 800 and buying another scope for DS imaging.

With a budget of say £2500 what setup would be best for DS imaging.

There is big revolution on the ED/APO market at the moment. You could create a setup like - Mono Atik 314L+ with small ED for widefield and bigger ED / GSO RC6 for small galaxies and alike. If you want color then the "only" option is QHY8 with APS-C (like in DSLR) sized color sensor.