Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Celestron Astromaster 130EQ vs Sky-Watcher Explorer-130

Hi guys i'm a newbie and i have been searching and doing some research and with my budget i have narrowed down the 2 scopes mentioned above.

i believe they are quite similar but was hoping for a "2nd opinion" before buying.

i really want all rounder to view more or less everything there is posibly to see, from the moon to nebulas. i know the quality of picture isnt going to be great for this price but its all i can realistically afford.

i know there are also parabolic versions of these scopes but it seems the para scopes have a slightly less focal ratio than the "normal" 1s.

any feed back from some of you more experienced guys would be very much apprieciated.

thanks chris.

Hi Chris

TBH I see no advantage in buying a scope mounted on one of these small equatorial mounts. The mounts aren't sturdy enough for deep sky imaging and they won't be of any benefit for webcam work.

So that leaves visual. Well TBH they will be wobbly at best for that, and there is no advantage visualy to an EQ mount. A Dob is better, its easier to find stuff with, its easier to track with, it's easier to set up, and most importantly of all, its a lot more stable. You also get more aperture for your money as you aren't paying for a flashy looking mount that actually isnt very good.

This is what I would get. It'll beat both of the others scopes hands down in every department.

http://www.firstligh...-dobsonian.html

A lot of people on this board (and others) started out with scopes from the SW130 series.

They are excellent beginners scopes. Can be used all round - moon; solar system and; DSOs - no problems. It is a very capable scope and the provided mount is perfectly adequate. You won't get good DSO images with it, but you will get brilliant views.

Imaging wise; stick to webcam and solar system stuff.

Sent from my GT-I9001 using Tapatalk 2