Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

"TMB Design" versus "TMB Planetary II Clones"

I'm a bit of a newbie but I have enough (distant) past experience of viewing to realise that the stock 10mm that came with my SW Dob 200P probably isn't great. So I was looking for an inexpensive upgrade and the TMBs from Skys The Limit seem to come recommended in the under £50 range.

What I'm not sure is the difference between these two shown on their site. Can anyone shed any light?

and would they be the ideal low cost upgrade for the stock 10m? I was thinking of maybe an 8mm?

Grateful for any advice.

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

On the same site they have BST starguiders for about the same price. They get recommended to death on here, I've had 2 myself!

I think that trader may even let you try the 2 before you buy.

I'd vote for the 8 mm :D

This may seem a very simple answer but ring Alan at Sky's the Limit and ask him what the difference is.

As you are in Harlow I would guess that Hartford is the club nearest you, you could drop in to the Hartford club and ask him direct on a Wednesday evening. :grin: :grin:

I seem to recall that the TMB 'designed' EPs were made by the OEM of the TMB Planetarys, as the licensing agreement between the two firms turned out to be non too watertight. The main difference seems to be that there are a lot more focal lengths available in the 'Designed' range, although that doesn't guarantee the longer focal lengths are as worthy.

I've got a 'designed' 8mm and it's generally a fine little EP that works pretty well in both of the F5 reflectors I've had. I didn't suffer from the stray light issues some seem to have had. I found the eye cup twists up far enough to let me really jam my eyeball in there and stop that, but I do find that it fogs up easier than the BSTs I've had.

Russell