Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

My take on DSLR peltier cooling

Luis Campos

Hi all,

This was something I had in mind a long time ago, but seening the thread started by Gina (cheers GINA :)) i was encouraged to proceed with the mod, my only concern is taht I know absolutely nothing about electronics, so was like playng in lotery...lol

Nevertheless i decided to take a go on it, trusting my mechanical skills (i'm a bicycle mechanic specialized in shocks /forks) it was very complicated I confess, making measurements, cuts, soldering etc...I allmost went nuts, when I finished and inserted the batery...pushed the on button...closed my eyes for like ten seconds...and when i got the courage to open them up, the camera was working, HURRA!!!!!! :D

So, I've made some first tests, and you can see in my Flickr page some pics regarding the mod and some dark frames for testing, although I used an aluminium cold finger (it was what i had in hand) still works great, can't wait for a clear night to test this out...i'm very satisfied with these first results :))

Flickr: Luís Campos_astro's Photostream

Greets,

Luís

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hello Gina,

Thanks! :)

Yup, while searching on the net for ideias for the mod I stumbled upon your thread, really brave you to do the mod :(

Just a couple questions pleasde, how do you adress the sensor fogging problem? It's not that I hav ethat because I havent tested it yet on real conditions (darn clouds) but suspect it will be a reality, I'm thinking about heating the "air chamber" within the baader MPCC and sensor filter with some welded resitors shrouded on insulating film, I think it will do the trick.

I've been doing some dark images just to test the noise reduction....and it's dramatic to say the least :)

Thanks in advance for your help,

Greets,

Luís