Red dot finder or alternative..?

Hi Guys. Was out last night on a mission to spot a couple of galaxies but my red dot finder decided it didn't want to work last night, making my job almost impossible. It often does this and it's not a battery issue. It's the finder that came with the scope.

My question is, are there recommended red dot finders out there which are actually reliable or is there a better alternative still?

Once again I appreciate all your words of wisdom.

Lee

I have been using a cheap skywatcher RDF for a few years and sometimes it won't play ball. It normally just needs the battery removing and re-inserting (and/or a quick thump).

That said, I am going to buy a decent one for my WO megrez and the link below shows one that was recommended on this site.

Finders

I sometimes have the same issue, but now i use a green laser,

the best thing i bought so easy to use and you can buy a simple little holder for it which allows you to align it.

I find my targets much better without bending my back and neck, even my young daughter can guide the scope using it.

I sometimes have the same issue, but now i use a green laser,

the best thing i bought so easy to use and you can buy a simple little holder for it which allows you to align it.

I find my targets much better without bending my back and neck, even my young daughter can guide the scope using it.

been thinking about one of these myself, i have a couple or rdf's that are a bit temperamental!

What you will find is the batterys will only last a few mins when on you scope, just enough to align, they hate the cold, whats the point then i hear you ask.......i was a little peed at this to but now i got them to last all night, i have the 2 ends of the laser (the parts that stick out of it holder) covered in small pipe lagging (perfect fit) and the centre part wrapped in re-usable hand warm, which keeps it nice and warm,

works really well.