Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Planetary Viewing

Hi all,

I am new to observing and have been trying to view Mars, as it was easy enough to find. When looking through my scope it looks like a bright star through the eye piece. Maybe am being stupid but shouldnt I be seeing an image somewhat spherical and planet like :D Am using a Skywatcher explorer 130m with a 25mm wide angled eyepiece.

Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Your scope has a focal length of 900mm which when divided by the the focal length of the eyepiece (25mm) will give a figure of 35, the magnification. Therefore, a 10mm eyepiece will generate x90 magnification which is clearly a significant increase. Now a 10mm with a x2 Barlow will have the effect of turning that eyepiece that a focal length of 5mm, which when applied to the focal length of the scope (900mm) gives us x180 magnification. As you magnify the light that your scope's aperture can capture, what you are actually doing is stretching the light, which has the effect of darkening the final view. Mars is a smaller and darker planet compared to Saturn and Jupiter and although the image at x180 will be larger than with the other eyepieces, I'm not sure how much detail you will be able to see. You should be able to see the polar region but there is also the the effect current seeing conditions along with the fact Mars is receding from us that will also impact the view. Magnifications of x180 to x200 are about the limit of what most of us can normally use in our night skies, and so using your Barlow and the 10mm will get you closer, but I have no experience of how well this particular Barlow performs. A Barlow by TAL (Russian) is modestly priced and is a good performer and might be worth a look at in the future.

Clear skies

James