Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Exposure lengths for unguided DSO images

pel

Afternoon gents ,

I'm just getting into AP and managed to get around 20 20 second exposures of M42 last Friday 800 ISO and 1 dark on an un-modded Canon 350d. The images were pretty clear but lacked detail in the dust. My polar alignment is getting quite accurate.

Is 30 seconds about the max I should be aiming at with good polar allignment ?

The are lots of conflicting advice on ISO settings, is 800 ok?

I'm averagely light poluted what other DSO's would be easy to find and image. The ring neb or dumbell ?

Thanks, Perry

My polar alignment is awful and i can manage 70sec, which for me, is quite my limit now and every now and then i have to tweak it as the session goes on.

But id be happy doing 60secs all evening without adjustment, again thats quite my personal limit, although there are people on here that do 90sec unguided :blob10:

So within reason, 45-60sec should be managable.

With ISO settings, im always on 1600 as my skies are pretty dark and not much LP. Wouldnt know where to start at other places mind, sorry i cant help with that! :o

Hi, I just posted this thread which has useful info for you:

http://stargazerslounge.com/imaging-tips-tricks-techniques/182261-bdget-dso-imaging-links.html#post2224960

By the way, there is no point at all in shooting asingle dark. The dark will introduce more noise than it removes unless you reduce the noise in the dark by shooting lots of darks.